Constituent parties of TNA to act independently in Parliament?

Updated: 12:45 GMT, Jun 18, 2017 | Published: 12:13 GMT, Jun 18, 2017 |

If ‘no confidence letter’ against Northern Province Chief Minister C.V.Vigneswaran was not withdrawn, the constituent parties of Tamil National Alliance TELO, PLOT and EPRLF are planning to act independently in Parliament.

Following the Chief Minister’s move, asking two of the four ministers in his Cabinet to resign over corruption charges proved by an inquiry, and call to the two others to go on leave — despite insufficient evidence to prove them guilty — a large block of Council members withdrew their support.

As many as 21 members wrote to the Northern Province Governor expressing “no confidence” in the Chief Minister. At least 15 of them are from the Ilankai Tamil Arasu Katchi (ITAK), a key constituent in the TNA.

But other constituent parties EPRLF, TELO and PLOT supports C.V.Vigneswaran and condemns the efforts undertaken to replace the Chief Minister.