Solution for Estate Workers’ Issue: President Appoints a Special Committee

Updated: 00:00 GMT, Jan 1, 1970 | Published: 09:49 GMT, Feb 16, 2019 |

President Maithripala Sirisena has appointed a special committee to present solutions after studying the short- and long-term issues related to the tea industry, including the wage issue of the estate workers.

A special discussion regarding the wage issue of the plantation workers was held at the Presidential secretariat, and the committee has been appointed during the meeting.

President’s Chief of Staff H. M. P. Hitisekara, Ministry of Plantation Industries Secretary J. A. Ranjith, R. P. R. Rajapaksa, Secretary of Ministry of Labour, Treasury Secretary Dr. R. H. S. Samaratunga, Tea Board Chairman W. L. P. Wijewardena, Commissioner General of Labour J. Wimalaweera, Chairman of the Tea Small Holdings Development Authority, and representatives of the Planters’ Association of Ceylon, Sri Lanka Tea Factory Owners Association, Sri Lanka Tea Brokers’ Association, and Tea Exporters Association of Sri Lanka will be included as members in this committee.

The objective of this committee is to address issues related to the tea industry, accelerate the steps that should be taken to develop the industry, and to increase the welfare activities implemented for the benefit of the workers engaged in the industry. The committee is expected to submit its report within a month to the President.

The obstacles that have arisen in the process of raising the salaries of the tea industry workers and the issues that have arisen in the field of tea exports were broadly discussed at this meeting.

Secretary to the President Udaya R. Seneviratne, relevant Ministry Secretaries, public servants, veteran cricketer Muttiah Muralitharan, representatives of the associations related to the tea industry, and others participated in this meeting.

Your Comment

அன்புள்ள வாசகர்களே, நீங்கள் தெரிவிக்கும் கருத்துகளுக்கு நிர்வாகம் எவ்விதத்திலும் பொறுப்பாகாது. கருத்துக்கள் தகுந்த தணிக்கைக்குப் பிறகே பதிவேற்றம் செய்யப்படுகின்றன. எனவே நாகரீகமான கருத்துக்களை மட்டுமே பதிவு செய்யுமாறு வாசகர்கள் கேட்டுக்கொள்ளபடுகின்றனர். முக்கியமான புலங்கள் குறிக்கப்பட்டுள்ளன *

Type Comments in Tamil language (Press Ctrl+g to toggle between English and Tamil)