Parliament adjourned till Tuesday

Updated: 00:00 GMT, Jan 1, 1970 | Published: 10:06 GMT, Nov 23, 2018 |

Speaker Karu Jayasuriya announced that the Parliament will reconvene on at 1.30 p.m. on November 27.

Parliament had convened at 10.30 a.m. this morning to decide on the appointing of members to Select Committee.

Prior to that, a party leaders’ meeting was held at the Parliamentary Complex at 9.00 a.m. to discuss the agenda and the appointing of members to the Select Committee.

However, the meeting had ended without a consensus being reached on the matter of the composition of the committee.

When the Parliamentary session commenced, the Speaker announced that committee will be comprised of 5 members each from the United National Front and United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA) while one member each will be represented by the Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP) and the Tamil National Alliance (TNA).

However, the Leader of the House Dinesh Gunawardena, speaking afterwards, stated that they object and will not accept the decision as the governing party should be allocated a majority of members in the committee.

Minister Wimal Weerawansa also addressed the parliament and voiced their disapproval regarding the matter while MPs of the government subsequently staged a walkout in protest.

The government members walked out of the Chamber in unison as the Speaker announced the vote on the composition of the committee.

After the vote was taken electronically, the Speaker informed the House that 121 MPs voted in favour of the composition of the Parliament Select Committee.

MPs of the governing party who had staged a walkout were absent during the vote.

A total of 116 members had voted electronically while another 4 MPs had voted by roll call due to technical issues.

The Speaker then announced that the Parliament would reconvene on November 27 and 28.

Your Comment

அன்புள்ள வாசகர்களே, நீங்கள் தெரிவிக்கும் கருத்துகளுக்கு நிர்வாகம் எவ்விதத்திலும் பொறுப்பாகாது. கருத்துக்கள் தகுந்த தணிக்கைக்குப் பிறகே பதிவேற்றம் செய்யப்படுகின்றன. எனவே நாகரீகமான கருத்துக்களை மட்டுமே பதிவு செய்யுமாறு வாசகர்கள் கேட்டுக்கொள்ளபடுகின்றனர். முக்கியமான புலங்கள் குறிக்கப்பட்டுள்ளன *

Type Comments in Tamil language (Press Ctrl+g to toggle between English and Tamil)