UNP’s Ananda Kumarasiri elected Deputy Speaker

Updated: 00:00 GMT, Jan 1, 1970 | Published: 12:22 GMT, Jun 5, 2018 |

UNP MP J.M. Ananda Kumarasiri has been elected as the new Deputy Speaker of Parliament following a secret ballot held today (5).

The Monaragala District MP received 97 votes in the ballot while Sudarshini Fernandopulle received 53 votes. One vote was rejected.

The names of Ananda Kumarasiri from the UNP and Sudarshini Fernandopulle from the UPFA were nominated to the position, which was vacant following the resignation of Thilanga Sumathipala.

Sumathipala’s resignation was officially announced at the Parliament today and as several names were nominated for the position, a secret ballot was held to elect the new Deputy Speaker.

The Joint Opposition had nominated the name of Fernandopulle, who would have been the first female Deputy Speaker if elected.

The UNP Parliamentary Group at a meeting held yesterday unanimously agreed to nominate Kumarasiri to the position.

Your Comment

அன்புள்ள வாசகர்களே, நீங்கள் தெரிவிக்கும் கருத்துகளுக்கு நிர்வாகம் எவ்விதத்திலும் பொறுப்பாகாது. கருத்துக்கள் தகுந்த தணிக்கைக்குப் பிறகே பதிவேற்றம் செய்யப்படுகின்றன. எனவே நாகரீகமான கருத்துக்களை மட்டுமே பதிவு செய்யுமாறு வாசகர்கள் கேட்டுக்கொள்ளபடுகின்றனர். முக்கியமான புலங்கள் குறிக்கப்பட்டுள்ளன *

Type Comments in Tamil language (Press Ctrl+g to toggle between English and Tamil)