President Maithripala Sirisena will make a policy statement address to the Parliament on the 8th of May.

Updated: 00:00 GMT, Jan 1, 1970 | Published: 04:27 GMT, Apr 24, 2018 |

President Maithripala Sirisena will make a policy statement address to the Parliament on the 8th of May. A Party Leaders’ Meeting will be held on May 2 to discuss arrangements for the inaugural ceremony of Parliament on May 8 and the Parliamentary business thereafter, Parliament Secretary General Dhammika Dassanayake said. Speaking to the media yesterday, he said it will be an informal meeting of the Party Leaders convened by Speaker Karu Jayasuriya as the Parliamentary Business Committee stands dissolved following the prorogation of Parliament. He said that Parliament has been unofficially informed that the inaugural sitting of the Second Session of Parliament would commence at 2.15p.m. on May 8, adding that the relevant Gazette by the Presidential Secretariat was expected last night.

“The ceremonial sitting will be limited to the delivery of the Policy Statement by President Maithripala Sirisena.

As he presides over the House during the function, Parliament cannot take up any other business. The date which Parliament reconvenes has to be decided by the Party Leaders’ during the informal meeting next week,” he explained.

In the meantime, the Speaker’s Media Division issued a press statement yesterday denying media reports that the ceremonial sitting of Parliament is to cost around Rs.30 million.

The Secretary General further said Parliament will have to appoint a Select Committee in the first instance it takes up the normal business to re-appoint members and Chairmen to the Parliamentary Committees including the COPE and COPA, as they stand dissolved after Parliament was prorogued on April 12.

Your Comment

அன்புள்ள வாசகர்களே, நீங்கள் தெரிவிக்கும் கருத்துகளுக்கு நிர்வாகம் எவ்விதத்திலும் பொறுப்பாகாது. கருத்துக்கள் தகுந்த தணிக்கைக்குப் பிறகே பதிவேற்றம் செய்யப்படுகின்றன. எனவே நாகரீகமான கருத்துக்களை மட்டுமே பதிவு செய்யுமாறு வாசகர்கள் கேட்டுக்கொள்ளபடுகின்றனர். முக்கியமான புலங்கள் குறிக்கப்பட்டுள்ளன *

Type Comments in Tamil language (Press Ctrl+g to toggle between English and Tamil)