Sri Lanka Freedom Party Members to Sit in the Opposition

Updated: 00:00 GMT, Jan 1, 1970 | Published: 07:11 GMT, Apr 10, 2018 |

q16 members of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party, who voted in favour of the No-Confidence Motion tabled against Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe will sit in the opposition during the next Parliamentary session. State Minister Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena said.

Speaking to the BBC World Service, the State Minister said the 16 members do not wish to continue to be a part of the government.

Accordingly, State Minister Abeywardena stressed the group will sit in the opposition when Parliament convenes on the 19th of April.

Meanwhile, State Minister Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena said the relevant resignation letters have already been presented to the President adding that they hope for a favourable reply to the letters.

State Minister Lakshman Yapa said although they decided to sit in the Opposition the group will continue to support the President in making important decisions that may affect the country.

The State Minister also said a complete reforms program will be introduced with the aim of bringing the Sri Lanka Freedom Party back into power.

Your Comment

அன்புள்ள வாசகர்களே, நீங்கள் தெரிவிக்கும் கருத்துகளுக்கு நிர்வாகம் எவ்விதத்திலும் பொறுப்பாகாது. கருத்துக்கள் தகுந்த தணிக்கைக்குப் பிறகே பதிவேற்றம் செய்யப்படுகின்றன. எனவே நாகரீகமான கருத்துக்களை மட்டுமே பதிவு செய்யுமாறு வாசகர்கள் கேட்டுக்கொள்ளபடுகின்றனர். முக்கியமான புலங்கள் குறிக்கப்பட்டுள்ளன *

Type Comments in Tamil language (Press Ctrl+g to toggle between English and Tamil)