Local Government elections commence

Updated: 04:37 GMT, Feb 10, 2018 | Published: 04:36 GMT, Feb 10, 2018 |

Polling for the Local Government election began at 7.00am today (10), at 13,374 polling centres across the island.

The LG polls will be held to elect members for 340 Local Government bodies under the newly implemented election system.

The Election Commission has urged all voters to mark their respective ballot box with an X against the selected party symbol.

Nearly 15.8 million voters will cast their votes today to elect 8,356 members to 341 local government bodies in a nationally important and decisive election to be held in Sri Lanka’s recent political history.

This election is the first-ever local government polls held under the new electoral system in the wake of the enactment of the Local Authorities Elections (Amendment) Act No.22 of 2012, which was the outcome of the recommendations of an all-party parliamentary select committee chaired by parliamentarian Dinesh Gunawardana.

Your Comment

அன்புள்ள வாசகர்களே, நீங்கள் தெரிவிக்கும் கருத்துகளுக்கு நிர்வாகம் எவ்விதத்திலும் பொறுப்பாகாது. கருத்துக்கள் தகுந்த தணிக்கைக்குப் பிறகே பதிவேற்றம் செய்யப்படுகின்றன. எனவே நாகரீகமான கருத்துக்களை மட்டுமே பதிவு செய்யுமாறு வாசகர்கள் கேட்டுக்கொள்ளபடுகின்றனர். முக்கியமான புலங்கள் குறிக்கப்பட்டுள்ளன *




Type Comments in Tamil language (Press Ctrl+g to toggle between English and Tamil)