BJP’s Yogi Adityanath sworn in as Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh

Published: 14:13 GMT, Mar 19, 2017 |

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Yogi Adityanath was sworn-in as the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh on Sunday along with 49 ministers, in a ceremony graced by a plethora of BJP luminaries, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, senior opposition politicians and a raft of sadhus, sanyasis and sanyasinis.

The swearing-in ceremony took place at Lucknow’s Smriti Upwan Park.

Yogi Aditya Nath, a five-time Lok Sabha MP from Gorakhpur, was unanimously elected BJP Legislature Party leader at a meeting of the newly-elected MLAs in Lucknow on Saturday evening.

In the recently held polls in the state, BJP had bagged 312 seats, and its allies 13, taking the alliance’s tally to 325 in the 403-member Assembly.

Outgoing chief minister Akhilesh Yadav and his father and Samajwadi Party founder Mulayam Singh Yadav also attended Adityanath’s coronation.