Karu Jayasuriya appointed as the Speaker

Updated: 00:00 GMT, Jan 1, 1970 | Published: 05:02 GMT, Sep 1, 2015 |

Karu Jayasuriya has been unanimously elected as the Speaker of the 8th parliament.

The members of the 8th parliament, which convened this morning around 9.30, selected the Speaker soon after the inauguration of the parliament.

Accordingly, former UNPer Karu Jayasuriya’s name was proposed for the Speaker post, by Prime Minister Ranil Wickramasingha and the proposal was seconded by the UPFA parliamentarian Nimal Siripala De Silva.

Following the nomination, both the PM and the UPFA MP-elect took Karu Jayasuriya to the Speaker’s chair.

Following this, the elections of deputy speaker and the deputy chairman of committees are to be held.

And then the parliament MP elects will take oaths before the Speaker and the parliament will be adjourned till 3.00 pm.