Debate on the decision on CC is postponed

Updated: 00:00 GMT, Jan 1, 1970 | Published: 10:12 GMT, Jun 10, 2015 |

The names of civilian members nominated for the constitutional council which were submitted for parliamentary approval today, has been postponed.

The parliament had given an approval to the people’s representatives and civilian members proposed for the constitutional council. Accordingly, Parliament is likely to approve the names today of former Court Appeal Judge A. W.A. Salam, A.T. Ariyaratne and Radhika Coomaraswamy as the civil society members represented in the Constitutional council.

Political sources said that the Party Leaders will meet again in the Parliamentary complex today (Wednesday) to decide on the timing for the no-confidence motion against Finance Minister Ravi Karunanayake. Meanwhile, Party Leaders also decided to refrain from appointing Cabinet Ministers to the Constitutional Council to represent the President and the Prime minister following the next General Election.

Earlier the opposition had expressed opposition to the people’s representatives nominated for the constitutional council saying that the names of ministers had not been included in it. The sources said that for the time being Party Leaders have expressed their willingness to continue with the present representations with Ministers Patali Champika Ranawaka and Wijeyadasa Rajapakshe.

It has also been decided that any Constitutional Council member appointed as a Minister following the next General Elections will stand to lose their membership in the Constitutional Council.

But however, the parliament failed to reach a decision about the CC and the debate on CC has been postponed.