MPs visit Mahindha to extend their New Year greetings

Updated: 00:00 GMT, Jan 1, 1970 | Published: 07:34 GMT, Apr 16, 2015 |

Former president Mahindha Rajapaksha is visited by fifty-seven Members of Parliament today at his Carlton House in Tangalle. A large number of Provincial Councillors and local government members also have participated in the visit.

Former Ministers of Dullas Alahapperuma, Bandula Gunawardena, Kumara Welgama, Dinesh Gunawardena, Wimal Weerawansa, TB Ekanayake, Prof GL Peiris, Salinda Dissanayake, Mahindananda Aluthgamage, Gamini Lokuge and Johnston Fernando have joined the occasion. Currently, an extensive political discussion between the former President and his minister is ongoing.

The group of politicians, inclusive of representatives from all coalition partners of the United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA), had planned the visit to extend their greetings to Rajapaksha in view of the Sinhala and Tamil New Year.