Electoral reform: High officials of SLFP meet today for discussion

Updated: 00:00 GMT, Jan 1, 1970 | Published: 05:09 GMT, Apr 16, 2015 |
The Central Committee appointed by Sri Lanka Freedom Party, gathers today (Thursday) to discuss regarding the electoral reform.During this, the recommendation report of the previous committee also will be taken under consideration.Especially, this committee will discuss about the increment in the number of Parliament members from 225 to 250.
Following today’s discussion, it’s expected that, the committee will meet the president tomorrow, and will take the final decision. In the central Committee the National organizer of SLFP Susil Premajayantha including the Chief Opposition Whip John Seneviratna, the members of Parliament G.L. Peiris, Nimlal Siripala De Silva, Anura Priyadharshana Yapa and Mahnindha Samarasingha are appointed.
Meanwhile, the election commission has announced that the recommendations regarding the electoral reforms have been submitted to both ruling and opposition parties by the election commissioner.